AUSTRALIAN ANTARCTIC TERRITORY ACCEPTANCE:

No. 8 of 1933.

An Act to provide for the acceptance of certain territory in the Antarctic Seas as a Territory under the authority of the Commonwealth and for the Government thereof.

[Assented to 13th June, 1933.]

BE it enacted by the King's Most Excellent Majesty, the Senate, and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Australia, as follows:—

Short title.

1. This Act may be cited as the Australian Antarctic Territory Acceptance Act 1933.

Acceptance of the Territory.

2. That part of the territory in the Antarctic seas which comprises all the islands and territories, other than Adelie Land, situated south of the 60th degree south latitude and lying between the 160th degree east longitude and the 45th degree east longitude, is hereby declared to be accepted by the Commonwealth as a Territory under the authority of the Commonwealth, by the name of the Australian Antarctic Territory.

Ordinances.

- 3.—(1.) The Governor-General may make Ordinances having the force of law in and in relation to the Territory.
 - (2.) Every such Ordinance shall—
 - (a) be notified in the Gazette;
 - (b) take effect from the date of notification, or from such date, whether before or after such date of notification, as is specified in the Ordinance; and
 - (c) be laid before both Houses of the Parliament within thirty days of the making thereof, or, if the Parliament is not then sitting, within thirty days after the next meeting of the Parliament.
- (3.) If either House of the Parliament passes a resolution, of which notice has been given at any time within fifteen sitting days after such Ordinance has been laid before the House, disallowing the Ordinance, the Ordinance shall thereupon cease to have effect.