## SEAT OF GOVERNMENT ACCEPTANCE.

No. 12 of 1938.

An Act relating to the Territory for the Seat of Government.

[Assented to 1st July, 1938.]

[Date of commencement, 29th July, 1938.]

BE it enacted by the King's Most Excellent Majesty, the Senate, and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Australia, as follows :-

1 .- (1.) This Act may be cited as the Seat of Government Acceptance Short Little Act 1938.

- (2.) The Seat of Government Acceptance Act 1909\*, as amended by the Seat of Government (Administration) Act 1910†, by the Judiciary Act 1927‡, and by the Seat of Government (Administration) Act 1933§ (as amended by the Statute Law Revision Act 1934¶), is in this Act referred to as the Principal Act.
- (3.) The Principal Act, as amended by this Act, may be cited as the Seat of Government Acceptance Act 1909-1938.

## Acceptance of Territory.

- 2. Section five of the Principal Act is amended by adding at the end thereof the following sub-section:—
- "(3.) The Territory shall be known as the Australian Capital Territory.".
- \* Act No. 23, 1909. † Act No. 25, 1910. ‡ Act No. 9, 1927. § Act No. 4, 1933. ¶ Act No. 45, 1934.