

Statutory Rules

1980 No. 11

REGULATIONS UNDER THE TERTIARY EDUCATION COMMISSION ACT 1977¹

WHEREAS it is provided by sub-section 44 (2) of the *Tertiary Education Commission Act* 1977 that regulations under that Act may declare that a specified institution or proposed institution shall be a university or college of advanced education for the purposes of that Act:

AND WHEREAS it is provided by sub-section 44 (3) of that Act that the regulations may declare that a specified institution or proposed institution specified in a Schedule or in regulations made under sub-section 44 (2) shall cease to be a university or college of advanced education for the purposes of that Act:

AND WHEREAS it is provided by sub-section 44 (4) of that Act that a regulation of a kind referred to in sub-section 44 (2) or (3) shall not be made in respect of an institution or proposed institution except after consideration by the Minister of a report by the Tertiary Education Commission on the appropriate status of the institution or proposed institution for the purposes of that Act:

AND WHEREAS it is provided in sub-section 44 (5) of that Act that, before making a report for the purposes of sub-section 44 (4) with respect to an institution or a proposed institution in a State, the Tertiary Education Commission shall consult with the appropriate authorities in that State with respect to the matters to be reported on, and the report shall include particulars of any views so obtained:

AND WHEREAS the Tertiary Education Commission has made a report in accordance with those sub-sections to the Minister of State for Education on the appropriate status of certain institutions and proposed institutions in the States of South Australia and Western Australia:

NOW THEREFORE I, the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, hereby make the following Regulations under the *Tertiary Education Commission Act* 1977.

Dated this thirtieth day of January 1980.

ZELMAN COWEN Governor-General

By His Excellency's Command,

WAL. FIFE Minister of State for Education

TERTIARY EDUCATION COMMISSION REGULATIONS

Citation

1. These Regulations may be cited as the Tertiary Education Commission Regulations.

Commencement

2. These Regulations shall be deemed to have come into operation on 1 January 1979.

Interpretation

3. In these Regulations, "the Act" means the *Tertiary Education Commission Act* 1977.

South Australia — colleges of advanced education

4. (1) For the purposes of the Act, the following institutions in South Australia are declared to be colleges of advanced education:

Adelaide College of the Arts and Education

Hartley College of Advanced Education.

(2) For the purposes of the Act, the following institutions in South Australia, being institutions specified in Schedule 2 to the Act, are declared to cease to be colleges of advanced education:

Adelaide College of Advanced Education

Kingston College of Advanced Education

Murray Park College of Advanced Education

Torrens College of Advanced Education.

Western Australia — colleges of advanced education

5. (1) For the purposes of the Act, the following institutions in Western Australia are declared to be colleges of advanced education:

Churchlands College

Mount Lawley College

Nedlands College.

(2) For the purposes of the Act, the following institutions in Western Australia, being institutions specified in Schedule 2 to the Act, are declared to cease to be colleges of advanced education:

Churchlands Teachers College

Mount Lawley Teachers College

Western Australian Secondary Teachers College.

NOTE

1. Notified in the *Commonwealth of Australia Gazette* on 4 February 1980.