Gazette

Published by the Commonwealth of Australia

#### OSVERNIMENT NOTICES

# NOTICES IN RELATION TO THE 2020 TORRES STRAIT REGIONAL AUTHORITY ELECTION

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

- Notice under subsection 142Y(2) fixing the day for the polling in the Torres Strait Regional Authority election
- 2. Notice under paragraph 143(2)(b) estimating, in relation to the Torres Strait area, the number of persons who will be entitled to vote and the number of persons living in that area who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginal persons
- 3. Notice under paragraph 143(2)(c) estimating, in relation to each ward, the number of persons who will be entitled to vote and the number of persons living in the ward who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginal persons
- 4. Most recent notice under section 142Z appointing polling places

# **NOTICE UNDER SUBSECTION 142Y(2)**

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

I, Ken Wyatt, Minister for Indigenous Australians, acting in accordance with subsection 142Y(2) of the *Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005*, fix Saturday 28 November 2020 as the day for the polling in the Torres Strait Regional Authority election.

Dated 14 August 2020

Ken Wyatt AM MP

Minister for Indigenous Australians

## **NOTICE UNDER PARAGRAPH 143(2)(b)**

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

- I, Ken Wyatt, Minister for Indigenous Australians, acting in accordance with paragraph 143(2)(b) of the *Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005*, estimate that, in relation to the Torres Strait area:
  - (1) the number of persons who will be entitled to vote at the forthcoming Torres Strait Regional Authority election is 5,200; and
  - (2) the number of persons living in that area who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginals persons is 8,694.

Dated 14 August 2020

Ken Wyatt AM MP

Minister for Indigenous Australians

## **NOTICE UNDER PARAGRAPH 143(2)(c)**

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

I, Ken Wyatt, Minister for Indigenous Australians, acting in accordance with paragraph 143(2)(c) of the *Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005*, estimate that, in relation to each ward of the Torres Strait area identified in the following table:

- (1) the number of persons who will be entitled to vote at the forthcoming election for that ward is the number appearing in column (i); and
- (2) the number of persons living in that ward who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginals persons is the number appearing in column (ii).

Dated 14 August 2020

Ken Wyatt AM MP

Minister for Indigenous Australians

	Column (i) Number of persons who will be entitled to vote at the forthcoming election for that ward	Column (ii) Number of persons living in that ward who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginal persons
Badu Island ward	428	763
Bamaga ward	618	1,063
Boigu Island ward	149	267
Dauan Island ward	104	191
Erub Island ward	224	333
Hammond Island ward	162	272
lama Island ward	199	328
Kubin ward	124	201
Mabuiag Island ward	134	216
Masig Island ward	165	272
Mer Island ward	310	466
Ngurapai and Muralag ward	327	529
Port Kennedy ward	836	1,425
Poruma Island ward	111	171
Saibai Island ward	219	442
Seisia ward	132	224
St Pauls ward	168	256
TRAWQ ward	596	938
Ugar Island ward	42	82
Warraber Island ward	152	255

### **AUSTRALIAN ELECTORAL COMMISSION**

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

### **APPOINTMENT OF POLLING PLACES**

I, Tom Rogers, Electoral Commissioner, under section142Z of the *Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005*, appoint the polling places named in Column 2 of the Schedule, to be polling places for the Wards specified in Column 1.

Tom Rogers
Electoral Commissioner

Date: 19/12/19

#### SCHEDULE

Column 1 Ward	Column 2 Polling Place
Bamaga	Bamaga
Port Kennedy	Port Kennedy
Ngurapai and Muralag	Ngurapai and Muralag
TRAWQ	TRAWQ