Gazette

Published by the Commonwealth of Australia

## **Australian Electoral Commission**

## Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918

## Section 59

## Direction to defer redistribution of New South Wales into electoral divisions

Pursuant to subsection 59(5) of the *Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918* (the Electoral Act), the Australian Electoral Commission directs that subsection 59(2) of the Electoral Act does not apply in relation to New South Wales until a determination is made under subsection 48(1) of the Electoral Act.

This means that a redistribution of New South Wales will be deferred until the making of the next determination of the number of members of the House of Representatives to be chosen in the States and Territories under subsection 48(1) of the Electoral Act.

Dated this 20th day of February 2023.

The Hon. Justice Susan Kenny AM Chairperson

Mr Tom Rogers Electoral Commissioner

Dr David Gruen AO Australian Statistician (non-judicial member)