Published by the Commonwealth of Australia

GOVERNMENT NOTICES

Notices in relation to the 2024 Torres Strait Regional Authority election

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

- 1. Notice under subsection 142Y(2) fixing the day for the polling in the Torres Strait Regional Authority election
- 2. Most recent notice under section 142Z appointing polling places
- 3. Notice under paragraph 143(2)(b) estimating, in relation to the Torres Strait area, the number of persons who will be entitled to vote and the number of persons living in that area who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginal persons
- 4. Notice under paragraph 143(2)(c) estimating, in relation to each ward, the number of persons who will be entitled to vote and the number of persons living in the ward who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginal persons

Notice under subsection 142Y(2)

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

I, Malarndirri McCarthy, Minister for Indigenous Australians, acting in accordance with subsection 142Y(2)
of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005, fix Saturday 30 November 2024 as the day for the
polling in the Torres Strait Regional Authority election.

Signed on 13 August 2024

Malarndirri McCarthy

Minister for Indigenous Australians

AUSTRALIAN ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

APPOINTMENT OF POLLING PLACES

I, Tom Rogers, Electoral Commissioner, under section142Z of the Aboriginal and T	orres	Strait
Islander Act 2005, appoint the polling places named in Column 2 of the Schedule, t	to be p	olling
places for the Wards specified in Column 1.		

Tom Rogers

Electoral Commissioner

28 July 2024

SCHEDULE

Column 1	Column 2
Ward	Polling Place
Bamaga	Bamaga
Port Kennedy	Thursday Island (Port Kennedy)
Ngurapai and Muralag	Horn Island
TRAWQ	Thursday Island (TRAWQ)

Notice under paragraph 143(2)(b)

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

I, Malarndirri McCarthy, Minister for Indigenous Australians, acting in accordance with paragraph 143(2)(b) of the *Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005*, estimate that, in relation to the Torres Strait area:

- (1) the number of persons who will be entitled to vote at the forthcoming Torres Strait Regional Authority election is 5,424; and
- (2) the number of persons living in that area who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginals persons is 8,081.

Signed on 13 August 2024

Malarndirri McCarthy

Minister for Indigenous Australians

Notice under paragraph 143(2)(c)

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

I, Malarndirri McCarthy, Minister for Indigenous Australians, acting in accordance with paragraph 143(2)(c) of the *Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005*, estimate that, in relation to each ward of the Torres Strait area identified in the following table:

- (1) the number of persons who will be entitled to vote at the forthcoming election for that ward is the number appearing in column (i); and
- (2) the number of persons living in that ward who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginals persons is the number appearing in column (ii).

Signed 13 August 2024

Malarndirri McCarthy

Minister for Indigenous Australians

	Column (i) Number of persons who will be entitled to vote at the forthcoming election for that ward	Column (ii) Number of persons living in that ward who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginal persons
Badu Island ward	451	686
Bamaga ward	671	1,071
Boigu Island ward	132	204
Dauan Island ward	75	133
Erub Island ward	228	323
Hammond Island ward	170	267
Iama Island ward	189	272
Kubin ward	93	160
Mabuiag Island ward	174	254
Masig Island ward	178	279
Mer Island ward	310	409
Ngurapai and Muralag ward	328	471
Port Kennedy ward	814	1,172
Poruma Island ward	119	169
Saibai Island ward	194	319
Seisia ward	160	234
St Pauls ward	201	279
TRAWQ ward	701	1,015
Ugar Island ward	40	71
Warraber Island ward	196	293