THE AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL UNIVERSITY

FACULTY AND FACULTY BOARD (RESEARCH SCHOOL OF PACIFIC AND ASIAN STUDIES) RULES 2005

The Council of the Australian National University makes these Rules under section 9 of the Faculties and Faculty Boards (Institute of Advanced Studies) Statute.

Dated: 10 December 2004.

Peter Baume AO Chancellor

Name of Rules and commencement

- 1.(1) These Rules are the Faculty and Faculty Board (Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies) Rules 2005.
- (2) These Rules commence on 31 December 2004, immediately after the commencement of the Rules (Repeal) Rules 2004.

Definitions

- 2.(1) In these Rules, unless the contrary intention appears-
- "Faculty" means the Faculty of the Research School;
- "Faculty Board" means the Faculty Board of the Research School;
- "Research School" means the Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies;
- "Statute" means the Faculties and Faculty Board (Institute of Advanced Studies) Statute.

Membership of Faculty

- 3.(1) The following persons shall, for the purposes of sub-section 3(2) of the Statute, be members of the Faculty:
 - (a) visiting fellows and honorary fellows in the Research School whose appointments are for not less than 6 months;
 - (b) such members of the staff of the University who are not otherwise members of the Faculty as the Faculty, by resolution, from time to time appoints;
 - (c) the research students in the Research School who are pursuing a program for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy.
- (2) A person who is appointed to be a member of the Faculty under paragraph (1)(b) shall hold office for such term as the Faculty, at the time of the appointment, by resolution, determines but may at any time, by notice in writing given to the Chair of the Faculty, resign from membership of the Faculty.

1

Chair of the Faculty

- 4.(1) There shall be a Chair of the Faculty, who shall be elected by the members of the Faculty from their number in such manner as the Faculty, by resolution, determines.
- (2) The Chair of the Faculty holds office until-
 - (a) the expiration of a period of 1 year commencing on the date of his or her election:
 - (b) if, before the expiration of that period the Chair-
 - (i) resigns the office of Chair;
 - (ii) becomes incapable of discharging the duties of that office; or
 - (iii) ceases to be a member of the Faculty,

the date on which the Chair resigns, becomes incapable or ceases to be a member, as the case may be; or

- (c) his or her removal from office in accordance with the next succeeding subrule.
- (3) The Chair of the Faculty may be removed from office by special resolution of the Faculty.
- (4) For the purposes of subrule (3), special resolution means a resolution-
 - (a) that is passed at the meeting of the Faculty at which it is proposed by a majority of the members of the Faculty for the time being; or
 - (b) if such a majority is not obtained at that meeting, that is passed by such a majority on a postal ballot that is held after that meeting in accordance with procedures determined by resolution of the Faculty.
- (5) A Chair of the Faculty shall be eligible for re-election but shall not be eligible for more than 2 consecutive terms of office.
- (6) The Chair of the Faculty shall preside at all meetings of the Faculty at which he or she is present, and, in the event of the Chair being absent from a meeting of the Faculty, the members of the Faculty present at the meeting shall elect 1 of their number to preside at the meeting.
- (7) The person presiding at a meeting of the Faculty shall report to the meeting on the matters dealt with by the Faculty Board since the last preceding meeting of the Faculty.

Membership of Faculty Board

- 5.(1) For the purposes of subsection 4 (2) of the Statute, the following persons are members of the Faculty Board:
 - (a) the Director of the Research School;
 - (b) the Associate Director of the Research School;
 - (c) Divisional Convenors of the Research School;
 - (d) the Chair of the Faculty;
 - (e) the head of each centre or unit (including the North Australia Research Unit) of the Research School, except a centre or unit within a Division;
 - (f) 4 members of the academic staff of each Division of the Research School selected by the members of staff of the Division in a manner decided by those members;
 - (g) 2 students of the Research School elected by students within the School;
 - (h) such persons as the Faculty Board, by resolution, co-opts.

- (2) For the purposes of paragraphs (1)(e), unit means a sub-division of the Research School, other than a department, that is, by resolution of the Faculty Board, declared, for those purposes, to be a unit.
- (2A) For the purposes of paragraphs (1)(f), the academic staff of a Division of the Research School includes each Visiting Fellow in the Division whose appointment as Visiting Fellow is for a period that is not less than 1 year in duration.
- (2B) For the purposes of a selection under paragraph (1)(f) of members by the academic staff of a Division, the manner of selection of those members must ensure that:
 - (a) women must be selected as members at least in proportion to the number of women in the Division; and
 - (b) that at least 1 woman must be selected.
- (3) The selection of members of the Faculty Board under paragraph (1)(f) shall be made as soon as practicable after 1 January in each year, and a person so selected shall hold office until the end of the year in which the person is so selected, but shall be eligible for reselection.
- (4) In the event of a vacancy occurring in the office of a member referred to in paragraph (1) (f), a person may be selected, in accordance with paragraph (1)(f), to fill the vacant office, and the person so selected shall hold office for the remainder of the period of office of the member in whose place the person was so selected.
- (5) A member of the Faculty Board referred to in paragraph (1)(g) shall hold office, unless the Faculty, by resolution, otherwise determines, for 1 year from the date on which he or she was elected as such a member.
- (6) A person is not eligible to serve for more than 2 consecutive years as a member of the Faculty Board referred to in paragraph (1)(g).

Meetings

- 6.(1) For the purposes of sub-section 5(2) of the Statute-
 - (a) the prescribed number of members of the Faculty is such number of members as is equal to one-tenth of the total number of members for the time being of the Faculty or, where that fraction is not a whole number, the next higher whole number; and
 - (b) the prescribed number of members of the Faculty Board is such number of members as is equal to one-quarter of the total number of members for the time being of the Faculty Board, or, where that fraction is not a whole number, the next higher whole number.
- (2) For the purposes of sub-section 5(5) of the Statute-
 - (a) the quorum at a meeting of the Faculty is 20 members of the Faculty; and
 - (b) the quorum at a meeting of the Faculty Board is such number of members as exceeds by 2 the number of members that is equal to one-half of the total number of members for the time being of the Faculty Board or, where that fraction is not a whole number, the next higher whole number.
- (3) The agenda for each meeting of the Faculty shall be distributed to each member of the Faculty not less than 24 hours before the date fixed for the meeting.