

Proclamation under the Flags Act 1953

Flags Act 1953

I, PHILIP MICHAEL JEFFERY, Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council and under section 5 of the *Flags Act 1953*, appoint the flag reproduced in Schedule 1 and described in Schedule 2 to be the ensign of the Australian Air Force and to be known as the Royal Australian Air Force Ensign with effect from 1 January 2008.

Signed and sealed with the Great Seal of Australia on 25 January 2008

P. M. JEFFERY Governor-General

By His Excellency's Command

JOHN FAULKNER
Cabinet Secretary

Schedule 1 Royal Australian Air Force Ensign



Schedule 2 Description of Royal Australian Air Force Ensign

The Royal Australian Air Force Ensign is a sky blue flag with a Union Jack occupying the upper quarter next to the staff, with a large white seven-pointed Commonwealth star in the centre of the lower quarter next to the staff and directly below the centre of the St George Cross in the Union Jack, and five white stars (representing the Southern Cross) and the Australian Air Force roundel in royal blue, white and red in the fly or the half of the flag further from the staff.