## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

## **Authorised Non-operating Holding Companies Supervisory Levy Imposition Determination 2009**

This determination relates to a levy imposed by the *Authorised Non-Operating Holding Companies Supervisory Levy Imposition Act 1998* on authorised non-operating holding companies in the general insurance and authorised deposit-taking institution sectors.

This determination commences on 1 July 2009 and relates to the 2009-10 financial year. The *Authorised Non-Operating Holding Companies Supervisory Levy Imposition Determination 2008* is revoked upon commencement of this determination. Consistent with section 50 of the *Acts Interpretation Act 1901*, any obligation or liability incurred in previous financial years remains valid.

Subsection 7(1) of the *Authorised Non-Operating Holding Companies Supervisory Levy Imposition Act 1998* allows the Minister to determine the amount of levy payable by an authorised non-operating holding company for a financial year.

The determination provides that the amount of levy payable by an authorised non-operating holding company in relation to the 2009-10 financial year is \$10,000.

The finance sector has been consulted on the 2009-10 supervisory levies through a Treasury and Australian Prudential Regulation Authority Consultation Paper released on 10 June 2009.

This determination is a legislative instrument for the purposes of the *Legislative Instruments Act* 2003.