

HIGH COURT RULE OF COURT 24 AUGUST 2010 EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Each year, the Justices of the High Court of Australia make a Rule of Court appointing the places and days of the sittings of each Full Court for the following year. These Rules of Court are made by the Justices under the rule-making power given by s 86 of the *Judiciary Act* 1903.

This Rule of Court, signed by the Justices on 24 August 2010, appoints the High Court sittings for 2011. Sittings of the Court will continue to be held in Adelaide, Brisbane, Hobart and Perth as required. These sittings are to be appointed by the Chief Justice pursuant to Rule 6.04.2.

As in previous years, no consultation was necessary in relation to the appointment of the High Court sitting dates for 2011.