Explanatory Statement – Instrument 2016/1

The Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development approved the allocations for the new Roads to Recovery programme, to run from 1 July 2014 to 30 June 2019 on 12 September 2014. The list was amended by Instrument No. 2015/1 made on 24 March 2015, Instrument No. 2015/2 made on 2 April 2015 and Instrument No. 2015/3 made on 12 August 2015.

Section 88(1) of the *National Land Transport Act 2014* (the Act), allows the Minister to vary the Roads to Recovery List where a funding recipient specified in the Roads to Recovery List ceases to exist before receiving its full allocation, and to redirect some or all of the remaining funds to another funding recipient or to one or more funding recipients.

Additionally, Section 88(3) of the Act allows the Minister to vary the Roads to Recovery List to correct an error or update the name of the funding recipient.

On 12 May 2016 the New South Wales Government created 19 new councils as part of its Stronger Councils / Stronger Communities initiative resulting in the abolition and merger of 41 councils including the Parramatta City Council being renamed as the City of Parramatta Council.

Additionally, after years of negotiating the Shire of Narrogin and the Town of Narrogin in Western Australia agreed to merge resulting in the former Shire of Narrogin being abolished and the Town of Narrogin being renamed Shire of Narrogin with effect from 1 July 2016.

This instrument amends the funding amount for the abolished councils, inserts the names of the new councils and redirects the balance of the funding amounts for the abolished councils to each new council as appropriate. The instrument also updates the name of the other funding recipients impacted by the changes.

The instrument commences on 1 August 2016 to enable payments claimed by the newly created councils to commence after that date.