

Amendment Statement of Principles concerning

No. 43 of 2019

for the purposes of the

Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 and Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004

- 1. This Instrument may be cited as Amendment Statement of Principles concerning subdural haematoma No. 43 of 2019.
- 2. The Repatriation Medical Authority amends, under subsection 196B(8) of the *Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986*, Statement of Principles concerning subdural haematoma Instrument No. 33 of 2011 (Federal Register of Legislation No. F2011L00784) by:
 - (A) Repealing factors "(e)" and "(h)" in clause 6 and substituting the following:
 - "(e) undergoing antithrombotic therapy within the two weeks before the clinical onset of subdural haematoma; or";
 - "(h) undergoing antithrombotic therapy within the two weeks before the clinical worsening of subdural haematoma; or";
 - (B) Inserting new factors "(ea)" and "(ha)" following factors "(e)" and "(h)" respectively, in clause 6 as follows:
 - "(ea) taking at least 700 milligrams of aspirin within a seven day period before the clinical onset of subdural haematoma, where the last dose was received within the seven days before the clinical onset of subdural haematoma; or";
 - '(ha) taking at least 700 milligrams of aspirin within a seven day period before the clinical worsening of subdural haematoma, where the last dose was received within the seven days before the clinical worsening of subdural haematoma; or";

- (C) Inserting the following definition of "antithrombotic therapy" in clause 9 in alphabetical order:
 - "antithrombotic therapy" means taking a drug for the treatment or prophylaxis of a thrombotic event, and includes antiplatelet drugs, anticoagulants and thrombolytic agents;

Note: Examples of drugs used in antithrombotic therapy include, but are not limited to, aspirin, clopidogrel, tirofiban, warfarin, heparin, dabigatran, apixaban, rivaroxaban and alteplase.'; and

- (D) Deleting the definition of "a drug from the specified list" in clause 9.
- 3. The amendments made by this instrument commence on 25 March 2019.

Dated 1 March 2019

The Common Seal of the Repatriation Medical Authority was affixed to this instrument at the direction of:

PROFESSOR NICHOLAS SAUNDERS AO CHAIRPERSON