

Mutual Recognition Act 1992 (Cth)

Mutual Recognition (Teacher Registration Exemption—Northern Territory) Declaration 2022

I, Eva Dina Lawler, Minister for Education:

- (a) under section 42S(1)(a) of the Mutual Recognition Act 1992 (Cth), declare that a registration under the Teacher Registration (Northern Territory) Act 2004 is excluded from the operation of automatic deemed registration for a period of 5 years; and
- (b) under section 42S(1)(a) of the *Mutual Recognition Act 1992* (Cth) and with reference to section 42S(1)(f) of the Act, am satisfied that the declaration is necessary because of a significant risk to the health or safety of the public; and
- (c) under section 42S(2) of the Act, state that the significant risk is as follows:
 - (i) the operation of automatic deemed registration for a registration under the *Teacher Registration (Northern Territory) Act 2004* poses a significant risk to child safety;
 - (ii) the exemption enables further work to be undertaken to resolve issues in the sharing of information about applicants and registered teachers between States and Territories.

Eva Dina Lawler
Minister for Education
Dated 23 June 2022

Note: The name of this instrument was amended on registration as the instrument as lodged did not have a unique name (see subsection 10(2), *Legislation Rule 2016*).